19th September 2016

posted by AM_admin

A Question and Answer session with Debbie, our new office administrator in Stoke

Before working at Cleanex, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? One of my previous jobs that stands out as being very different was an Administrator within a Residential Home for Children who had behavioural and emotional issues.  In order to make the young people feel more at ease we were encouraged to be as informal as possible so it wasn’t unusual to have the TV on and to socialise with them at meal times whilst we were working.  Some of the things these ‘Children’ (mostly 6ft tall lads with size 10 feet) got up to made it a never a dull moment kind of job.

What aspect of your new role do you enjoy the most? My new position with Cleanex is quite different.   I often work alone as Chris travels a fair amount of the time and the lads are usually out on site.  I sometimes need to unlock/lock the unit up when I arrive and leave so it’s been a bit of a change for me in this respect.  I’ve enjoyed adapting the role to fit in with Chris and Head Office and the rest of the staff and I’m now busy arranging the office in the new premises we’ve just moved into.  The Unit doesn’t get many visitors so communication is usually via email or telephone.  I currently work on a part-time basis so most days I finish work at 3.30pm.
What does a typical day look like for you? On a typical day.  First thing I do is check my emails and deal with anything that needs immediate attention. Then I look through the timesheets to see what jobs have been completed so I can start invoicing.  I also input the purchase invoices and update the staff wages spreadsheet.  After that I can start completing any general admin tasks that are needed but these vary from day to day.
What is the most important thing you have learned in the last five years? The most important thing I’ve learned in the last five years is to never take anything for granted and also that life is what you make it. What kinds of hobbies and interests do you have outside of work? Outside of work I’m a mum to 2 teenagers (girl and boy) so I spend a fair amount of time being taxi service, counsellor and referee!  I enjoy Zumba dancing and have 2 dogs that I enjoy walking on a daily basis.  Also, my husband restores old Land Rovers so we spend a bit of time at weekends travelling around the country sourcing parts and exhibiting in local shows.
What’s the one thing, you can’t live without? A tricky one this, but one thing I can’t live without are high-heels!